What I’ve Been Up To

Leave a comment
new work / Painting / Painting For Peripherals / Uncategorized / What I've Been Up To

It has been months and months of Decembers. It has been December for years. — Girl Fight (2011)

It’s weird to feel energized at this point in the winter, given the weather doesn’t seem like it’s going to warm up any time soon. Despite that, I’ve been feeling a bit of a shift in my process as of late, and because of that, stuck, in a way. Stepping back from these two canvases last night however, I felt an extreme amount of relief. I wouldn’t say that I haven’t been happy with the things I’ve been producing in the last two years, but it certainly hasn’t felt easy. Not that these were easy per se, but I had a plan in mind, and it worked out. It’s no secret that I usually approach a canvas without much thought in mind, but these days I’m finding it necessary to actively seek out colours I wouldn’t normally use, in an effort to avoid things feeling stale. The task of choosing a pallet has acted as a gateway into planning certain aspects of the composition too, which I’m thinking may be a direct relation to the process involved in creating work for The Braille Project.

Either way, painting has been feeling pretty refreshing as of late, which is always a good thing.


Here are my two newest pieces, and the first from a new ongoing series for 2014, Painting For Peripherals. 

Singing As I Paint (Ignoring Inner Dialogue)

Singing As I Paint (Ignoring Inner Dialogue)

~33″ x 33″ acrylic on canvas,
from Painting for Peripherals
February 2014

Straight to the Cotton Coloured Colour Pad

Straight to the Cotton Coated Colour Pad

~44″ x 58″ acrylic on canvas,
from Painting for Peripherals
February 2014


For more painting updates & works in progress, follow me on Instagram.

Leave a Reply

