Hey there, 2014

Leave a comment
I love you / Modo / News / ramblings / Uncategorized

So, I guess it’s 2014 now.

It’s kind of freaking me out that I graduated high school now, ten years ago, but that’s another post for another time. A lot of really exciting things have been happening lately, and I can’t wait to talk about them. And in the next post I will, I promise. I’ll even try not to brag.

Speaking of bragging, today is my first day back at work, after nearly a month of holidays. I’m lucky enough to be marrying into a big, loud, loving family and just returned home after spending a week under the sweltering Jamaican sun. We drank probably one-hundred Red Stripes, hung out in an infinity pool, ate french fries, argued with some Americans, and turned my nephew into the Hulk:

My arm eventually got tired so I had to call in Faye to help. He was upset we weren't going to do the insides of his ears or the bottom of his feet, but he got over it.

My arm eventually got tired so Faye jumped in to help. Nephew was upset we weren’t going to do the insides of his ears or the bottom of his feet, but he got over it.

I don’t think I realized how badly I needed out of this cold. I mean, the winter usually gets to me, emotionally-speaking, but I can’t for the life of me remember a winter so unbelievably bitter. A few months ago we moved into a big loft apartment, one that has a giant industrial heater hanging 17 feet up in the air, a heater I expected might be loud and scary, but effective. I was right about the volume, and it does gyrate quite violently at times, but we still find ourselves hugging space heaters at night and my dog practically rolls her eyes when we prompt her to go out for her morning pee. But I digress. I went to Jamaica. Because I’m really fucking lucky.

Screen shot 2014-01-20 at 2.29.51 PM

Yeah, sorry. I said I wouldn’t brag.

The above-mentioned exciting things have everything to do with The Braille Project, something that is surely going to dominate the 2014 year for me. I couldn’t be happier about that fact; Faye and I have worked tirelessly ironing out the all the kinks in the plan for this project, have fully completed six pieces of our proposed forty-something, and we can’t wait to get back into it and work out the ideas for the next round of work.

Somewhere in there I’m supposed to get married too, so there’s that. On paper, this year looks like the most thrilling yet, so yeah, hats off, 2014! Let’s do it.

Leave a Reply

