Braille Paintings & Studio Moves

Leave a comment
Braille Paintings / daily / new work / News / Painting

braille1DSC_0004 DSC_0043

For the past few months I’ve been working on a project with my friend/sister-in-law Faye, who is an author and braille transcriber here in Toronto.  Since we are still working out some kinks, I won’t go into much detail right now, but I’m super excited about it and wanted to share some photos Faye took last night at the studio. The whole process has been so fun, not to mention a huge learning experience; limiting colour pallets and referencing photos and generally just thinking about what I’m setting out to do is all very new to me, and I’m enjoying the change.

Speaking of change, I’m in the process of moving home + studio, so aside from this project things have felt very on-hold. I’m moving into a commercial (live/work) loft in Leslieville, and the only thing that could make me happier about the whole thing is if I could move in RIGHT NOW. We are hoping to be fully moved in by mid-August, to savour some of the summer in the new space, but there’s tons of stuff to be done before then so I know I should just be grateful for the time I have. It feels funny to be leaving the studio behind, one that I’ve praised endlessly, one I never thought I’d leave, one that I’ve had for over two years now, but I also feel ready. I’ve been saying for sometime now that I think I need to do something drastic to achieve something drastic, and I think this is it. It feels a bit crazy to dive into something that seemed to have happened over night, but for some reason everything is falling into place and I can’t help but feel like this is a step in the right direction. Regardless of move-in dates, I’ll be fully out of my current studio by August 20th, and I’m not sure if that fact has really hit me just yet.

“There’s these great artists who comment on studios becoming the ivory tower and how the artist emerges from it haggard to bring forth the goods. I don’t think it has to be that sacred. This is where I come to make my stuff–but I’m also making it out there too, picking things up off the road.” – Ken Nichol

DSC_0061

I’m very excited.

Leave a Reply

